HITEX Header

Telangana Govt Approves ₹1,479 Cr for 8 New Medical Colleges - News

Telangana Govt Approves ₹1,479 Cr for 8 New Medical Colleges

Telangana Govt Approves ₹1,479 Cr for 8 New Medical Colleges

The Telangana State Government has approved an administrative sanction of ₹1,479 crore to establish eight new medical colleges and upgrade attached government general hospitals. Rajanna Siricilla (₹166 crore), Vikarabad (₹235 crore), Khammam (₹166 crore), Kamareddy (₹235 crore), Karimnagar (₹150 crore), Jayashankar Bhupalpally (₹168 crore), Kumram Bheem Asifabad (₹169 crore), and Jangaon (₹190 crore) are the eight districts where medical colleges will be established, and government general hospitals will be upgraded.

The eight new medical colleges are planned to open this academic year, 2022-2023, and would add 800 MBBS seats. Each medical college will be built with 100 MBBS seats in mind, and the adjacent government hospital will be upgraded in proportion to the number of medical seats.

The State government has designated the Roads and Buildings (R&B) department to construct the eight new medical colleges, while Telangana State Medical Services and Infrastructure Development Corporation (TSMSIDC) will be in charge of upgrading the eight medical colleges, procuring medical infrastructure, diagnostic and hospital equipment, and furniture.

Currently, the Telangana Vaidya Vidhan Parishad (TVVP) has jurisdiction over all attached government hospitals in the eight districts that will be improved. The administrative management of these government hospitals has been transferred from TVVP to the Director of Medical Education (DME) by the State Government.